Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Contact / overnight stay issues
Hi all, newbie here joining the forum for support and guidance.
Basically I separated from my wife back in April last year. We have a 5 year old son. Up until last week I had regular, unrestricted access. I would have him stay over regularly with me and my new partner.

Now a bit of background, I met my estranged wife back in 2009 at work, I'd just started there and we got on, eventually got together, and then (regrettably now) married in 2011, with our son born same year.
What was a good marriage initially, started to change, and the real person started to show in the wife, bottom line, my feelings changed and i eventually grew some balls and made the decision to leave. Hardest thing ever in terms of my son, but it was inevitable.
After just over two months of sleeping / living in the spare room, i eventually moved out, and moved in with my new partner.
Obviously I wasn't expecting a smooth separation and the ex behaved / responded as I expected. However, she did meet my new partner, something she insisted on, and from then on I was seeing my son regularly, based around my shifts, and hers, planning in advance via text / email, (all kept).
End of October and I signed over the house to her, with no equity, stupid move maybe, but, I just wanted rid of it. Low and behold, once that happened, she wasnt as nice. Now im no angel either, I have low tolerance, and tend to shout a lot, thats my biggest weakness, my mouth! and saying things out of spite and in anger.
So now to the present and the ex has had an appeal at work over a shift pattern change rejected, obviously she solely blames me for this, and the anxiety issues she now suffers too.
So as a result, she has now told me there will be no over night stays. I am to see my son at parents house, in arrangement with them, where she will drop him off there, I will spend time with him there, then she returns to collect him.