Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Proving a Child lives with Dad
Hi everyone
Newbie here,
After 15 years of the usual aggro from the ex  i have had my 18 year old son come and live with me. He's a smashing fellow and i am really proud of him and despite the ex he has turned out very level headed. 
I have had stay overs every other weekend and lots of other contact time and holidays over the years. The ex has had 70k out of me for the pleasure.
Of course this is fantastic for us now my son is here and generally we have managed to sort his Bank, College, Copy of Birth Cert, Driving License etc etc. (hes a full time college student)
The big problem is the Child Maintenance service and in Particular my ex will not admit my son now lives with me. She still wants money to maintain her nice lifestyle (Currently on her third foreign holiday this year despite only working 15 hrs a week)
So the crux of the matter is that the CMS will only consider that my son lives with me if i get the Child Benefit which i have applied for. My ex will obviously say my son is still with her.
My question is how do i go about challenging the ex and proving to the Child Benefit people that my son is resident with me. I read on the .GOV website there is a right of appeal to the decision they make but has anyone been down this route?
All advice very gratefully received.
Kingy
(05-13-2016, 09:23 PM)Kingy Wrote: Hi everyone
Newbie here,
After 15 years of the usual aggro from the ex  i have had my 18 year old son come and live with me. He's a smashing fellow and i am really proud of him and despite the ex he has turned out very level headed. 
I have had stay overs every other weekend and lots of other contact time and holidays over the years. The ex has had 70k out of me for the pleasure.
Of course this is fantastic for us now my son is here and generally we have managed to sort his Bank, College, Copy of Birth Cert, Driving License etc etc. (hes a full time college student)