Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Confused at CSA making up my income!
Hi all

I have been paying maintenance to my ex for nearly 3 years. The arrangement was she kept the car that I pay finance on and i made it up with a payment every month. She has threatened me for a long time that i must take the car back and pay her more money. She knows i cannot afford to pay for the car and pay her full money too. Anyway she went to CSA - well child maintenance service so i contacted the car finance company and they said they would take it back and send it auction, so i went and got it from her - I had worked out the maintenance i should pay on the online calculator. So I was prepared to do this. However the CMS have my income wrong - £10k over what I earn, they said i cannot change this as they received the info from the inland revenue and this includes some 25% tolerance thing(!?!?) so I have to pay over £100 a month to what i should be paying (according to online calculator) and I simply cannot afford this. I do NOT understand how they can do this??? They said they will review it in 1 year. How can they cripple me like this when i can clearly show proof of my earnings but they dont want to know.  

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated as do not know how i can afford to live.
Well, you are not the first and wont be the last to fall into this.

Happened to me and will happen to everyone
The CMS calculate your charge based on last years (Tax year of 2016-2017 now) Gross Taxable Income. That will include company car, overtime, bonuses, stock options and just about everything that the HMRC determine as income, albeit it seems unjust, it is what it is I am afraid.
Mine I pay on the co car and it bumps my GTI up by another 4 grand, and.............there's nothing at all I can do about it.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings, but they get their number from HMRC, at the start of your case year and work it out from that.