Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Joint custody - PLEASE HELP
Hi,

I'm new to this, but I feel like my entire world is falling apart. I really need some help.

I'm 8 months into separation, and based on my adultery with a woman I met AFTER we agreed to split and told the kids (!). I've got three children, the eldest is in Y6 and my youngest has just started Reception. All 3 tick boxes on the autistic spectrum, though my wife has always demanded that none of them are tested which is still how it is. The kids stay with her, and I see them for one night every two weeks. She doesn't work (she gave it up when we had kids - her choice) and I work full time. The family home is sold and the money is being held by Solicitors. She is living with her Mum, I'm renting a house. I'm 39, she's 35.

I want to go part time (which my boss agrees to) so I can have joint, 50% custody of the kids. They're a job to my wife - what she does to pay the bills. She doesn't play with them, get involved with them and would rather be on her phone than spend time with them. But equally she doesn't want to get a job, claims that she can't for various reasons (my working hours, childcare, too qualified), and so wants to use the as a way of making money.

My Solicitor says I've no chance of getting joint custody. What I'm getting from them is basically roll over and take it, and give her what she wants - which is everything. 

But they're my kids! I can't just sit there and let her waste their childhoods! I need desperately to be majorly involved in my children's upbringing, even if just to dilute her down a bit. I'm sure that lots of us say this, but she's really quite a nasty, uncaring person. My kids basically get ignored or snapped at for bothering her - which was pretty much how marriage was. 

I'm at rock bottom. I can't see any way out of this - even my own Solicitor won't help. I have never felt so alone and so helpless.

What can I do?
Hey