Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Separation and the Internet, mobile devices etc
Hi Dads,

So I was thinking this morning about this, and one of the bug bears I have about my recently separated ex (almost three weeks now) is the amount of time she spends on her phone of an evening.

I'm very much a "switch the phone off when I get in" kind of guy because I spend my day staring at screens (I work in IT), and the last thing I want to do when I get in is distract myself with Facebook and the comings and goings of inane 'celebrities' when I should be spending time with my family instead.

She even sits on her phone whilst our daughter is snuggled up to her, or before our daughter's bedtime whilst she's reading her school books to us. The valuable moments are sullied because she permanently has her head stuck in the phone.

In the past she's said it's because she finds all of this more interesting than her own life but I dismissed it as a throwaway comment - and yes, I know that warning signs should have started flashing at that point but they didn't, of which I admit that I am guilty of - seeing as we both earn a decent wage, have a nice house, perfect daughter in a good school and all that jazz.

And she's not the only one. Male and female friends and colleagues all have the same problem with someone in their lives, who would rather play candy crush or sift through hours of carefully-planned Facebook updates by vacuous 'friends' whose lives are always more exciting and interesting than yours, instead of having personal interactions with those around them.