Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ex and relocation advise
Hi,
My Ex has been planning a relocation 150 miles away (6 hours return journey time) in secret for months and has already notified schools and our six year old child, who told me about it. She is currently refusing to discuss in mediation but has no job offer or family in her new proposed location. I have been a non resident parent since my daughter was six months old and have had overnights for 4 years, currently 6 nights per month term time. We don’t have any court orders.

My question is if anyone has any experience with CAFCASS or court orders in relation to the Max distance a 6 y/old child can reasonably travel for alternate weekend contact. My Ex is saying she will bring our child back most of the way for my alternate weekends but as she has not made a single journey of 10 miles in 5 years I don’t believe she will honour that. And I think a 300 mile round trip each alternate weekend is way too far for a child after school, therefor CAFCASS / court wouldn’t make that journey part of a formal agreement as too far unless school holidays. My ex is trying to sell her relocation based on my contact not changing but would be forcing a six year old to travel huge distances that I don’t want to put her through. I also want to formalise contact with an order if she is relocating.

I appreciate every case is different but hoped I’d find a rough limit of what’s deemed acceptable for a child to travel by courts/CAFCASS .

Thanks in advance!
(04-29-2021, 05:15 PM)Condor Wrote: Hi,